The HSRCA is one of Australia's leading car clubs catering specifically for historic racing, sports and touring cars.

Posts Tagged ‘Formula Ford’

An Opportunity to Help Scott Blake Save Rochelle

Save Rochelle

Scott Blake, secretary of Historic Formula Ford Australia, needs some help to save his 1984 Reynard Formula Ford, which was seriously damaged in an incident that saw him a passenger when he was hit from behind in qualifying at Bathurst last weekend.

He needs help to fund repairs of the car, and has set up a GoFundMe page in the hope of doing so in time for the 50th anniversary of Formula Ford in Australia in 2019. Scott plans to undertake the work himself to minimise costs and is looking for assistance to fund the parts required to repair the extensive damage to the car. You can view, and contribute to, the campaign here:

Read on to view the footage, and for Scott’s story, which recounts a little of the Reynard’s history as well as Scott’s as a racer, and the incident on the weekend.


Video: Open-Wheel Highlights from Sydney Retro Racefest

Sydney Retro Racefest 2016 Coverage

Settle in for 25 minutes of historic open-wheeler action with this excellent coverage of Sydney Retro Racefest from our coverage partners Blend Line TV.

The video features the trophy races and some behind-the-scenes highlights from Formula Ford, Groups M & O Racing & Sports, Formula Vee, Q & R Racing & Sports and Formula 5000 on Sydney Retro Racefest’s raceday Sunday. It’s packed with great racing highlighted by the erudite and exciting commentary of Daniel Beckinsale and John Young.

This episode was originally broadcast on Aurora on Monday, the 4th of July at 8:30PM and will run again on Tuesday the 5th of July at 3PM and then Friday the 8th of July at 8PM.

Heritage Touring Cars, Group S and Group N races will be broadcast next week at the same times, and the telecast will be made available on YouTube at the same time. Tune in to Aurora at 8:30PM on Monday the 11th of July, 3PM on Tuesday the 12th of July and 8PM on Friday the 15th of July and keep an eye right here as we’ll be bringing you the coverage as soon as it’s available.

Formula Fords sizzle at Blistering Sydney Motorsport Park

NSW Historic Formula Ford Season Review

The Tasman Revival packed Sydney Motorsport Park with historic racing action from dawn until dusk for three full days, plus a little more with Thursday practice. And amongst this, putting on some of the best shows out there, was a strong field of Formula Fords.

This Round Three review from Formula Ford PR wraps up the action-packed season finale at the Tasman Revival and catches up on all that’s news in Formula Ford. It’s a fun read and packed with plenty of great photos. Check it out by downloading it from the link below!

NSW Historic Formula Ford Round 3 Review [PDF]

Photo by Richard Taylor

Video: On Board with Mark Lowings in Formula Ford for the Leffler Trophy at the Tasman Revival

On-board Formula Ford

Hop on board with Mark Lowings for a brilliant dice with Tom Tweedie in this video from Sunday’s Formula Ford feature race at the 2012 Tasman Revival.

If you have video from the Tasman Revival which you would like to share on the website, just send a quick email to and let us know!

NSW Historic Formula Ford Series Round One Review

NSW Historic Formula Ford Series Round One Review

With a successful weekend at Sydney Motor Sport Park wrapped up, we can take a moment to enjoy a more detailed look back at some of the action from the Formula Ford series, thanks to the New South Wales Historic Formula Ford series.

They’ve made the round one review available for download on the club website, and it’s packed with all of the historic racing action that took place over the weekend. Check it out at the link below:

NSW Historic Formula Ford Series Round One Review

NSW Historic Formula Ford Series Round One Points Table

Lotus Sydney Tasman Revival Feature Race Winners

Good times were had with great friends. Beautiful historic racing machinery danced, and sometimes pirouetted, with brave and talented drivers in the rain. Lap records were broken. Here are the results for Sunday’s feature races at the 2010 Lotus Sydney Tasman Revival.

Detailed results and timing can be found on our results page, and on this link to the Natsoft website. The HSRCA lap records for Eastern Creek International Raceway can be found here.

Thank you to Peter Schell for his fantastic photography.  Please hit this link to view the full gallery of his photography from the 2010 Lotus Sydney Tasman Revival, including photos of the feature event winners.

Lotus Sydney Tasman Revival – Sunday 28th November 2010, Feature Races

Event 34 – Regularity – Peter Finlay and Ian Forsyth Trophies

Heidi Jackel – 1970 Valiant VG Pacer

Jake Williams – 1974 Holden HQ

Event 35 – Frank Gardner Trophy for Group L Sports

Peter Giddings – 1953 Masserati 250F

Event 35 – Alec Mildren Trophy for Group L Racing

Dick Willis – 1959 Mildren Cooper T51

Event 35 – RACA Trophy for Sa Sports Cars

Peter Jackson – 1959 Austin Healey 3000

Event 35 – Jack Myers Trophy for Na Touring Cars

Allan Bryson – 1952 Austin A30

Event 35 – The VSCCA Trophy for Group K

Peter Greenfield – 1935 Alfa Romeo 8C-36

Event 36 – The Ron Tauranac Trophy for Group Q Racing

John Gale – 1972 Surtees TS9 F1

Event 36 – Trophy Race for Group R Racing

Guido Belgiorno-Nettis – 1985 Ferrari 156/85 Turbo

Event 37 – RACA Trophy Race for Group Sb Sports Cars

Tony Dains – 1970 Triumph TR6

Event 37 – Trophy Race for Group Sc Sports Cars

Stephen Borness – 1976 Porsche 911 Carrera

Event 37 – Trophy Race for Group T Sports Cars

Jason Lea – 1968 Datsun 2000

Event 38 – John Leffler Shield for Formula Ford

Fa – John Tarran – 1970 Lotus 61M

Fb – Geoff  Walters – 1981 Elwyn 003

Event 41 – The Jack Brabham Trophy for Group M Racing Cars

Ed Holly – 1963 Brabham BT6

Event 41 – Leo Geoghegan Trophy for Group O Racing cars

John Smith 1968 Lotus 49/R8

Event 42 – The Repco Matich Trohpy for Group M Sports Cars

Stewart Mahony – 1965 Bolwell MK 4

Event 42 – The Spencer Martin Trophy for Group O Sports

Murray Sinclair – 1969 Chevron B16

Event 42 – The Bib Stillwell Trophy for Group Q Sports Cars

Scott Whittaker – 1972 Milano GT 2

Event 42 Trophy Race for Group R Sports Cars

Jamie Larner – 1979 Ralt RT2

Event 43 – The Kevin Bartlett Trophy for F 5000

Stan Redmond – 1976 Lola T332C

Event 44 Trophy Race for Formula Junior

David Methley – 1960 Lotus 18 FJ

Event 44 – Trophy Race for Formula 3

Tom Tweedie – 1965 Lola T60 F2

Event 45 – Trophy Race for Formula Vee

David Cutts – 1984 Spectre FVee

Event 46 – The Ian Geoghegan Trophy for Nb Touring Cars

Victor Waterhouse – 1964 Jaguar 3.8 MK. 2

Event 46 – The Brian Foley Trophy for Nc Touring Cars

Vince Macri – 1972 Holden Torana GTR X